Tuesday, March 31, 2020

click the arrow  to expand that section and

Minimize Description of Judges

There are two types of judges of the district court: district judges and district magistrate judges. District Judges exercise the full power and authority of the court. District Magistrate Judges have jurisdiction over probate, juvenile offenders, child in need of care through the trials. Trials on misdemeanors, traffic, wildlife and parks citations,cigarette and tobacco infractions and limited civil actions, protection from abuse and stalking orders. Felony cases through arraignment. They may also determine child support orders. And they have concurrent jurisdiction with district judges in civil actions not exceeding $10,000.00 and not containing questions on real estate. They may sign arrest and search warrants in their districts.

Both district and district magistrate judges are selected in one of two ways, either by partisan election or selection by a judicial nominating commission. Clark County is in the 16th Judicial District which is an elected district, where the judges stand for partisan election every 4 years. The 16th Judicial District has 3 district judges and 5 district magistrate judges. The district judges stand for election in each of the 6 counties in the district, the district magistrate judges stand for election in their county of residence.

In merit selection districts, when a vacancy in a judgeship occurs, a judicial nominating commission interviews candidates and recommends two or three persons to the governor for consideration. The governor then appoints one of these as a judge to fill the vacancy. Judicial nominating commissions are made up of lawyers and non-lawyers who live in the district.

The district judge is a constitutional officer and at least one district judge or district magistrate judge is designated per county. In the multi-county districts a district judge covers all the counties in the district, the district magistrate judges may also cover more than one county. In the 16th District the magistrates travel to Ford County at least one day a week to hear cases. In the more populous counties, the district court may have several district judges.

The decisions of a district magistrate judge are appealable within the district court to a district judge. Appeals from decisions of district judges go to the Supreme Court or the Court of Appeals as specified by statute.


Minimize Clerk of the District Court Description
The clerk of the court is an officer of the district court. The clerk issues court processes which establish the power of the court to act in a case and keeps a record of the date and time subpoenas, summons, and warrants are returned to court endorsed with evidence of service on potential litigants and witnesses.

The clerk also issues post-judgment processes which enforce court mandates such as orders of garnishment, income withholding, attachments, execution by sale of personal or real property and the like. The clerk is charged with the critical function of keeping accurate records of the date, time, and manner in which petitions, answers, and motions of parties to a suit are served, received, and filed in the court.

By statute, the clerk of the court is the official custodian of all court records. Because the district court is a court of record, papers received must be carefully preserved for future reference (in case of an appeal) or as a historical record of events as well as the basis for changes in property or liberty rights. The clerk also ensures access to court records that are open to the public. The clerk is in charge of collecting, accounting for, and forwarding to the state treasurer's office money due to the state by operation of law. Besides managing finances, the clerk also supervises personnel matters and coordinates case management activities of the district court.

The clerk's jury management duties include insuring that summoning procedures are cost-effective yet meet the needs of the court with minimum disruption to the lives of the jurors summoned. Other managerial functions of the clerk include preparing payrolls, ensuring the latest version of forms are used and, in courts which have law libraries, acting as treasurer for the law library board.

See the Sixteenth District Court of Kansas website for additional information and forms.

Maximize Docket Fee & Surcharge Chart

District Court

Judge Philip Moore, District Magistrate Judge

Hilary Foster, Court Clerk

8:30-Noon & 1:00-4:30, Monday - Friday

Contact Information
Physical Address:
913 Highland
Ashland, KS 67831

Mailing Address:
PO Box 790
Ashland, KS 67831

Judge's Telephone Line: (620) 635-2717

Court Clerk's Telephone Line: (620) 635-2753

Fax: (620) 635-2155

Traffic Payments...
may Be Made Online at: http://www.citepayusa.com/ks

Crisis Center of Dodge City, Advocate for Clark County

Ashland Office Hours and Dates:
Clark County Court House Jury Room
10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Dates vary.  In Clark County once a month.
Please call one of the telephone numbers below for assistance.

Rural Advocate Cell Phone Number: (620) 789-1131
Dodge City Office: (620) 225-6987
Dodge City Hotline: (620) 225-6510
Toll Free Dodge City Hotline: (866) 270-2270

Providing Services & Assistance for Victims of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault